Board of Trustees

Give good example – teaching more by what you do than what you say.

– St. Angela Merici


In 1975, Ursuline Academy’s Board of Trustees was formed to assume responsibility for the daily operations of the school, under the chairmanship of Taylor W. Hanavan. At that time, the Convent and school became separate corporations. The Convent corporation retained the name “Ursuline Academy, Inc.,” and the school corporation was known as “Ursuline Academy of Wilmington, Delaware, Inc.” For the first time in its history, lay principals were appointed to head the schools. A further reorganization of the school took place in 1988 when the Board of Trustees created the position of President of the Academy; Angela M. Boyle, class of 1953, was the first to hold this position. Today, Dr. Trisha Medeiros holds position of President and Tom Tattersall, the Chair of the Board of Trustees.


General Board Responsibilities:

  • Actively support and promote the school’s mission, vision, strategic goals, and policy positions.
  • Stay fully informed about current school operations and issues
  • Attend and participate in meetings
  • Set policies that focus on long-range and strategic issues
  • Maintain the interest of the entire academy when setting policies and making decisions
  • Maintain confidentiality with board deliberations
  • Guards against conflicts of interest
  • Contribute to the development program of the school, including strategic planning for development, financial support, and active involvement in annual and capital giving
  • Ensure sound financial management


2017/2018 Board of Trustees

Stacey Hondry Bacchieri ‘78

Karen Bifferato

Julian H. Booker

Colm Connolly

Mardee Cool ‘86

Anita D’Amico ‘00

Sister Kathleen Mary Donohue, OSU

Sister Kathleen Finnerty, OSU

David Ford

Eric Garcia

Kathleen Fahey-Hosey

Brendan Kennealey

Yvette Kinsale

Andrew Larmore

Abigail R. Layton ’94

Gil Leidig

David Plaza

Maritza Poza-Grise

Kelly Rieger ’99

Charles Ryan

Tom Tattersall, Board Chair

Sister Maureen Welch, OSU